Where are all the Scottish MP’s?



It occurs to me that there is something lacking from the current campaign for the Scottish Independence Referendum. Where are those Scottish members of the Westminster Parliament, who surely would be amongst the most central characters in this historic vote? Scotland is represented in Westminster by 59 MP’s, who will all become redundant if a Yes vote is returned. Some are towering political figures, and have reached the highest office, and some mere backbenchers. Some have warmed the green leather benches for decades, whilst others were only recently elected to what might otherwise been a job for life.

These demi-MP’s presently have only a fraction of the responsibilities of other UK members, being that many powers, such as health and education (amongst many others) are now the responsibility of the MSP’s for the same constituency in the Scottish Parliament. They do of course vote on these matters for the rest of the UK, but frankly don’t need to do their homework, as those people didn’t elect them. With all this spare time, you might think they would be making themselves useful by teaming up to make the case to save their jobs. Surely the most prominent body of people in the NO campaign would be those who are sent by the Scottish electorate to represent them in Westminster? As part of any MP’s role is to in-turn represent Westminster to their constituencies, then I would expect them to be very visible indeed, both severally and jointly, to sell the necessity of the United Kingdom.

Now I’ve scoured the Internet, and so far have completely failed to find even one picture of at least 10 of them together, never mind all 59. Given the strictness of the party system, I must wonder if  they are under orders to lie low until their future is decided. I know they have been campaigning locally, but there appears to be an accord whereby they must not be seen together, lest the public realises what little they do for Scotland. I’m really keen to know, but in the absence of any kind of logical explanation, I must assume that they just don’t want to be seen together, if at all.

PS. Here’s the full list of them.

MP Constituency Party In constituency since
Danny Alexander Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey Liberal Democrats 2005
Douglas Alexander Paisley and Renfrewshire South Labour Party 2005
Willie Bain Glasgow North East Labour Party 2009 by-election
Gordon Banks Ochil and South Perthshire Labour Party 2005
Anne Begg Aberdeen South Labour Party 1997
Gordon Brown Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath Labour Party 2005
Russell Brown Dumfries and Galloway Labour Party 2005
Malcolm Bruce Gordon Liberal Democrats 1983
Iain McKenzie Inverclyde Labour Party 2011 by-election
Menzies Campbell Fife North East Liberal Democrats 1987
Alistair Carmichael Orkney and Shetland Liberal Democrats 2001
Katy Clark North Ayrshire and Arran Labour Party 2005
Tom Clarke Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill Labour Party 2005
Michael Connarty Linlithgow and East Falkirk Labour Party 2005
Michael Crockart Edinburgh West Liberal Democrats 2010
Margaret Curran Glasgow East Labour Party 2010
Alistair Darling Edinburgh South West Labour Party 2005
Ian Davidson Glasgow South West Labour/Co-operative 2005
Thomas Docherty Dunfermline and West Fife Labour Party 2010
Brian Donohoe Central Ayrshire Labour Party 2005
Frank Doran Aberdeen North Labour Party 2005
Gemma Doyle West Dunbartonshire Labour/Co-operative 2010
Sheila Gilmore Edinburgh East Labour Party 2010
Tom Greatrex Rutherglen and Hamilton West Labour/Co-operative 2010
David Hamilton Midlothian Labour Party 2001
Tom Harris Glasgow South Labour Party 2005
Jimmy Hood Lanark and Hamilton East Labour Party 2005
Stewart Hosie Dundee East Scottish National Party 2005
Cathy Jamieson Kilmarnock and Loudoun Labour/Co-operative 2010
Eric Joyce Falkirk Independent 2005
Charles Kennedy Ross, Skye and Lochaber Liberal Democrats 2005
Mark Lazarowicz Edinburgh North and Leith Labour/Co-operative 2001
Angus MacNeil Na h-Eileanan an Iar
(Western Isles)
Scottish National Party 2005
Michael McCann East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow Labour Party 2010
Gregg McClymont Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East Labour Party 2010
Jim McGovern Dundee West Labour Party 2005
Anne McGuire Stirling Labour Party 1997
Ann McKechin Glasgow North Labour Party 2005
Michael Moore Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk Liberal Democrats 2005
Graeme Morrice Livingston Labour Party 2010
David Mundell Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale Conservative Party 2005
Jim Murphy East Renfrewshire Labour Party 2005
Ian Murray Edinburgh South Labour Party 2010
Pamela Nash Airdrie and Shotts Labour Party 2010
Fiona O’Donnell East Lothian Labour Party 2010
Sandra Osborne Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock Labour Party 2005
Alan Reid Argyll and Bute Liberal Democrats 2001
Angus Robertson Moray Scottish National Party 2001
John Robertson Glasgow North West Labour Party 2005
Frank Roy Motherwell and Wishaw Labour Party 1997
Lindsay Roy Glenrothes Labour Party 2008 by-election
Anas Sarwar Glasgow Central Labour Party 2010
James Sheridan Paisley and Renfrewshire North Labour Party 2005
Robert Smith West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine Liberal Democrats 1997
Jo Swinson East Dunbartonshire Liberal Democrats 2005
John Thurso Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Liberal Democrats 2001
Michael Weir Angus Scottish National Party 2001
Eilidh Whiteford Banff and Buchan Scottish National Party 2010
Pete Wishart Perth and North Perthshire Scottish National Party 2005

Stephen O'Donnell is a lifelong recruiter, internet enthusiast, fadgadget and peripatetic writer.

Related Posts

Smash & Trash

If you really want my opinion on any given topic (mainly recruitment), you'll almost certainly find it here.

Please browse and search my blogs at will.

Blog Categories